Wednesday, August 31, 2011
W3-over it
Well, I'm pretty much over doing W3. All my posts were going to be some vitriolic rant about something that bothers me and in the meantime ostracize and alienate people. So, let me just apologize by saying...if you drive a PT Cruiser, you are not lame. Your car is lame...but you are not. There's lots going on over here, but I just don't have the energy (or will) to post about it. I've been in and out of these little funky "down" times. I could hypothesize many components, but ultimately it comes down to being prideful and selfish and discontent. So, we'll see what gets posted from here. Hope you are all doing well.
Wednesday, August 3, 2011
W3: driving power
This is a changing weekly post, so I will just tell you that I am thinking about changing the title from Wise, Weird, Whatever to simply Weird. To claim that any of my ideas could be wise seems a little audacious and when I have a post like today's, it doesn't really fall into the titled theme. Therefore, I re-name this W3 to just Weird. It's the idea that in exposing my thoughts to you about this life, you'll feel better about your own weird thoughts because we all have them!
When I grew up and learned to drive, I really enjoyed and still enjoy driving. My parents bought me some excellent driving cars. My first was a little sparkly blue VW bug that was amazing. I reupholstered the interior to a black vinyl and grey velour and that thing was so fun to drive. After the little '70 bug was in a crash, my parents replaced it with a red convertible. Driving around in that car was a blast, I replaced the sound system and the convertible top (due to leaking) and loved being able to let my hair fly-literally. I bought my own car in 2004; it is my 2001 4Runner and I adore this vehicle too. It reflects that outdoorsy, functional SUV type that I morphed into after college. And I suppose that is what is so weird about these thoughts on driving and cars. I think that what you drive says a lot about you. For instance, if you drive a PT Cruiser, you're just lame-those are the silliest cars (except for it's even more class-less cousin, the HHR). I'm sorry, but you just can't come back from buying a Cruiser. If you choose a Toyota or Honda, you're willing put invest in something that is going to hold it's value. Going with a convertible? You've got a little wild streak. If I see you drive by in a Audi you're probably fairly cool. But a red Mercedes just screams LOOK AT MEEEEEE BOYS!!! (Because no man would ever rive a red Mercedes. See a Sion scream by, must be a young, but fairly trendy college kid. Obviously, mini-vans are mom's territory, but if you drive a Sienna or Odyssey, you still crave a little style versus someone who's rollin' in a Voyager or Sedona (sorry sis). Driving a Jeep Wrangler, a Range Rover or an FJ Cruiser that's never seen desert dirt than you might be a poser. Get that thing out on the rocks!!! The point is, I actually assume a lot about a person based on the car they drive. In the past, if I was looking for a cute boy, he was going to be driving a Subaru hatchback. That car just screams pacific northwest wanderlust. So, that is my weirdness...as Tim and I drive around, I am secretly categorizing people by the car they drive. Weird, but true. What do you think, does your choice in car reflect who you are?
Tuesday, August 2, 2011
August 1-2
Happy August! Not really my favorite Back-to-School month (I think we'll go back in September when we homeschool-if we even take a break like the public school) and definitely a hotter (and muggier) month in Temecula. After linking through a few blogs (iheartorganizing.com to The Nesting Place to beautyandbedlam.com) I found some motivation to get back into exercise. I lost all Gracen's preggo weight and a little more, getting down to my lowest weight since my wedding around July 4th. But since then it's been pretty stressful for me lately and Minto Oreos have been my solace (which I say to my shame for I know Jesus:Phil 4:6 ) Regardless, it's a little too much mac'n cheese and little too less muscle. After reading this post: http://beautyandbedlam.com/the-30-day-shred/ I decided to cash in my coupon for free eggs at Target and pick up the video (under $10). Now, two days down...I'm feeling good about getting up and actually getting a workout in. There is something about doing my exercise that really makes me feel like whatever else I do that day is just icing on the cake (or dressing on the salad for me). Took measurements yesterday, no pics-might ask Tim to do that tomorrow. Anyways, it's muggy, it's yucky, but I'm committing to sweat it off. Oh, and the selling point: the workouts are 20 minutes long. Yup, no 55+minutes of P90X, I just don't have the time. So, we'll see what Jillian and I can do together this next month.
ps. Also at Target, I found these $1 abridged classics and phonics cards & time telling cards. We got almost all of them. So, homeschooling Mama's- have any of you researched tax credits for school related expenses?
Wednesday, July 27, 2011
w3: the Mom uniform
For my first Wise, Weird or Whatever post I want to present: the MOM uniform
Many of you already know that I have a Mom uniform. After Madeleine was born, I wore a lot of Tim's sweatpants or his exercise shorts and looking back on pictures, it looked hideously frumpy. After Gracen, I found that most days, I was still postpartum baby body and I was constantly being touched by sticky hands, spit-up upon, and wanting to be, above all, comfortable. I also didn't want to spend a bunch of money on clothes that would look put together, but were always dirty. Enter the uniform. Because on most days, I am home with my kids and no one else comes over but my mom, I decided to spend some money on date-night/ going out clothes and put a few bucks towards the uniform.
White shirt, black shorts in summer, black pants in winter.
I bought two packages of white v-neck Hanes shirts from Walmart.
I was given a black and white pair of soccer shorts while I coached track, so I bought another pair.
I also used a gift card to purchase two more pairs of my most favorite pants in the world. L.L. Bean's perfect pants!!! They are long, nicely cut, have a touch of stretch and don't fade in the wash. They are amazing date pants- they dress up with a nice blouse. Or they look casual with a jean jacket, but most days they are the work horse around the house as part of the mom uniform with white top.
Why a uniform?
1. I was wearing mostly the same thing every day post-partum anyways.
2. I don't have to think about it (no wasting time trying to make an outfit work).
3. It fits and is comfy! Looks relatively good but the elastic waistband accounts for the 30lbs. swings in weight with a pregnancy and 9 month recovery.
4. I can bleach the bejeezus out of the top if necessary
5. It is cheap and allows me to put monies towards other desires, like books =)
6. Should I go out, I can just throw my hair up, put on some makeup and black flip flops and look athletic (in the summer) or -with a pair of dangly earrings- almost done up in winter. (Dangly earrings and soccer shorts just can't go together!)
So, what do you think? Wise, Weird or Whatever? Would you (Or do you unknowingly) rock a mom uniform?
Love, Lauren
Tuesday, July 26, 2011
Whimsy & Desires
1. Madeleine is 25 months, I am stuck in a puzzle/book rut; it is time to start activities that inspire play (which equals learning).
2. My last "monthly" post for the girls covered January, it is time to catch up.
3. While my blog is not managed enough to do a "link-up party" or generate any outstanding traffic, I do want to do a weekly blog focusing on seemingly unorthodox approaches to living. I am thinking of calling it "Weird, Wise or Whatever" and having people weigh in with their opinion. I think it could be fun and of course, it would be on Wednesday.
4. I joined Pinterest and although I have heard of the addictive power, I would like to moderately organize ideas I find on the world wide web.
So, in keeping with these desires. Madeleine and I bought out the paints. I was inspired by my friend who blogs at birdinyourhand. She wrote about adding whimsy to our yards, so this is what I came up with:
Start with a $1 birdhouse from JoAnn's

Add Crayola Washable paint


Set them outside to dry, go to the library, come home, have lunch, then prepare to drill
Drill a hole through the bottom and add a bamboo garden stake
Sunday, July 24, 2011
Letter #30/30- Your reflection in the mirror
Helllllllllllllllloooooooooo gorgeous!
...now seriously, go to bed.
Love, Lauren ♥
Letter #29/30- Someone You Want to Tell Everything To, But Are Too Scared
Dear Someone I want to tell everyone to, but I am too scared,
If you knew what I had done before you were born, you might not understand. You might not love me anymore. You might be shocked, outraged, horrified, overcome with disbelief. You might use my mistakes justifying your own, or worse, qualifying foolish pursuits. If you knew what grace was offered me, a poor sinner, then you might want to be a sinner for the sake of forgiveness. If you knew what lies I've told, what betrayal I've committed, what lusts I've fostered, what jealousy I've harbored, what malice I've fueled, what pride I've bolstered, you might not want me for your life's guide. You might believe that all the years I'd poured into you with training and exhorting and disciplining and admonishing and encouraging and loving were just a sham to make you a "good kid", one who never said the wrong thing, at the wrong time for the wrong reasons. You might think, "Well, look what she did. Look what she was. What can she offer? What does she know?" and you would be right.
But for the grace of God...
I don't deserve your love; but, you don't deserve mine. We don't deserve anything besides our depravity (- so what joy we realize in loving the other!) Simply, we are all struggling saints. But it is by the struggle that we know Christ's sanctification.
If you can look at my life, little one, and say, "I would never do that..." then I pray that God would reveal the desperation of your heart. But, if I told you all my secrets and you looked into my eyes and said, "I love you, because God first loved me: the number one sinner."* then I will know that I told you EVERYTHING worth knowing.
Love, Mama
* 1 John 4:19 "We love, because He first loved us." (NASB) & 1 Timothy 1:15 "The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost." (ESV)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

